Ope, hey there! My name is Makenna and it will be my first year at Camp Augusta! I am beyond excited to meet all of you!

Here is a little about me:

I grew up in a small town in Wiscaaaansin, where I did all kinds of exploring. I’m the middle child; I have an older brother (graduating college and moving to Arizona) and a younger sister (in high school). There’s not much to do where I grew up except get outside and wander. Growing up, I spent a lot of time in my tree house and riding my bike around town with my brother and his friends. All summer, we would play baseball and when it got to hot, lay on the trampoline with the sprinkler on underneath. As I got older, I started spending more time with my sister and friends going UTV riding, kayaking, and hiking the bluffs. I currently live in the Land of the Lakes, or in other words, Minnesoooota! I am attending college at Winona State University in Winona, Minnesota where I am studying Social Work. Social work is a really interesting field and I am looking forward to helping motivate others to achieve their goals.

I grew up near the Mississippi River (even go to college right next to it!!). I’m lucky enough to even live by two lakes where you can kayak, canoe, hammock, roller blade, and in the winter, ice fish and ice skate! Although I am not very good at rollerblading and ice skating (I have acquired lots of battle scars.) I still enjoy going with my friends. (Check out one of the many beautiful sunsets at Lake Winona!)

I have previously volunteered at a softball day camp where children would come to improve their softball skills. I also was a student tutor for a fourth-grade classroom and a physical education class helper. Outside of these, I have worked as a nanny for a couple summers, caring for two different families.

I have spent the last semester doing my internship at a group home. Here, I assist residents with daily tasks and help them stay active.

Some other things I LOVE to do:

  • Weightlift
  • Walk the trials around Lake Winona
  • Hammock (even makes for a great place to study)
  • Kayak/ Paddle Board
  • Cuddle with my dog, Bentley

I haven’t been to too many places, but the white sand beaches in Florida and the never-ending forests in Montana have by far been my favorites!

(Here’s a picture of me chilling with the three deer that visited the house every day on vacation in Montana!)

This summer will be my first time in California! I am so excited for a magical summer of exploring the beautiful outdoors of Northern California with you!